Skip to main content

IoTMarketi guide

Milesight LoRaWAN gateway comparison: UG63, UG56, UG65, UG67

All four Milesight LoRaWAN gateways are 8-channel and EU868-ready; they differ in placement, ingress protection, backhaul and built-in network server capacity. UG63 is for small indoor sites, UG56 for industrial indoor and cabinets, UG65 for indoor and semi-outdoor, UG67 for outdoors.

UG63

UG63

UG56

UG56

UG65

UG65

UG67

UG67

In short

Quick rule: UG63 for a small indoor project of up to 20 devices; UG56 for industrial indoor use inside cabinets or on DIN rail; IP65 UG65 for indoor and semi-outdoor spots such as under eaves; IP67 UG67 for outdoor pole or façade mounting. UG63's built-in network server supports at most 20 devices, while UG56, UG65 and UG67 handle around 2000 at a 10-minute reporting interval.

Audience: Integrators and facility teams choosing a gateway for a LoRaWAN project.

All four side by side

CriterionUG63UG56UG65UG67
PlacementIndoor (desk, wall, ceiling)Industrial indoor (desk, wall, DIN rail)Indoor and semi-outdoorOutdoor (wall, pole)
Ingress protectionIP30IP30IP65IP67
LoRa8 channels (half-duplex)8 channels, Semtech SX13028 channels, Semtech SX13028 channels, Semtech SX1302
BackhaulEthernet (PoE), optional 4G (Cat 1); Wi-Fi for configuration onlyEthernet (PoE), 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, optional 4G LTEEthernet (PoE), 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, optional 4G LTEEthernet (PoE), 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, 4G LTE
Built-in network serverYes, up to 20 devicesYes, around 2000 devicesYes, around 2000 devicesYes, around 2000 devices
Positioning (GNSS)Not statedNot statedNot statedGPS/GLONASS/QZSS
Power9–24 V DC, PoE, USB Type-CPoE, USB Type-C (5 V/2 A)9–24 V DC, PoE, USB Type-CPoE, 6–12 V DC (M12), optional UPS
Operating temperature-20 … +50 °C-20 … +60 °C-40 … +70 °C-40 … +70 °C
Vendor range claimUp to 2 km urban2 km urban, 15 km ruralNot stated on the product page2 km urban, 15 km rural

Source: manufacturer product pages. Range figures are vendor claims.

How to proceed

  1. 1

    Decide the location

    UG63 for offices and shops, UG56 for cabinets and DIN rail, UG65 for indoors and under eaves, UG67 for rooftops, poles and open sites.

  2. 2

    Count the devices

    If you will use the built-in network server with more than 20 sensors, choose UG56, UG65 or UG67 instead of UG63.

  3. 3

    Choose the backhaul

    Without an Ethernet line, pick a 4G variant; on UG67, 4G LTE and Wi-Fi can act as failover.

  4. 4

    Run a coverage test

    Measure signal at the farthest sensor points; raise the gateway or add a second one if needed.

Included

  • Comparison based on Milesight's official product pages
  • Recommendation by placement, device count and backhaul

Not included

  • Prices depend on stock and variant; request a quote for current pricing.
  • Range figures are vendor claims; confirm real range with a coverage test.

Related

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between Milesight UG63 and UG65?

UG63 is a compact IP30 indoor gateway whose built-in network server supports up to 20 devices. UG65 is IP65, also suits semi-outdoor spots, can use Wi-Fi backhaul, and its built-in network server handles around 2000 devices.

What is the difference between Milesight UG56 and UG65?

Both are Semtech SX1302 gateways handling around 2000 devices. UG56 is an IP30 industrial indoor model that can be DIN-rail mounted; UG65's IP65 enclosure also suits semi-outdoor spots.

Can UG65 be used outdoors?

With its IP65 enclosure, UG65 suits indoor and semi-outdoor locations. For pole mounting exposed to rain and sun, the IP67 UG67 is recommended.

What is the range of UG67?

Milesight quotes 15 km rural and 2 km urban for UG67. Real range depends on antenna height, terrain and interference and should be confirmed with a coverage test.

Which models have 4G?

UG67 includes 4G LTE. On UG63, UG56 and UG65, 4G is offered as an optional variant.

Do these gateways work with the same sensors?

Yes. All four are standard LoRaWAN gateways and work with EU868 LoRaWAN sensors from Milesight and other brands.

Ready with quantities and site notes? Send an RFQ — we reply in writing.

Request a quote